Trekking the Himalayas

The trek to Roopkund Lake. Image sourced from http://www.roopkund.com/
The trek to Roopkund Lake. Image sourced from here

Yes, yes and yes! It’s done, it’s decided and paid for, so there’s no backing out now!

I, am going on a Himalayan trek this June, and I’m so excited! I say this with a little hoppity-hop on one foot (the other leg is a little injured owing to my constant clumsiness) but, I guess one can gauge the excitement in my voice!

It’s been exactly four years since I last went trekking, and I spent those years pining for freshest air and snowy mountains and whining about how I have to work and/or study! So finally, yay!

I’m going for ‘Roopkund’ trek, which means ‘Mystery Lake’. It is a shallow lake at an altitude of 16,499 feet, and called so due to the remains of hundreds of human beings found here decades ago. When the snow melts, one can easily see the skeletons at the bottom. Interesting, isn’t it? You can read more about this on Wikipedia, here.

It is said to be a very beautiful trek, as the trail goes through forests and meadows. The difficulty level is higher than moderate, and on the last two days of the trek we shall be climbing through snow to reach the lake. And this means I REALLY NEED to get in some trekking practice to increase my stamina and fitness. Starting today, I have exactly 50 days to up my stamina to match that of a horse (Okay, okay, I’m exaggerating). I need to get myself to a level where I can jog 5 kilometres in 30 minutes. I need to challenge myself, that way I will have to get up in the mornings and actually do it.

So anyways, I’m dipped in nostalgia and I’m attaching here photos from my last Himalayan trek four years ago, to the ‘Pindari and Kafni glaciers’. Note: I am not a photographer, and these photos are only to showcase the magnificent beauty of the Himalayas, any which way I can. That being said, any constructive criticism on photographs is also welcome. I hope you all enjoy the photos, and do visit the Himalayas at least once, they truly are breathtaking!  🙂

Steep climbs initially to gain  altitude
Steep climb at the beginning to gain altitude
Campsites
Campsites
DSC06896
The trail

100_1217    100_1313

DSC06944    100_1333

We found some scattered bones, and rearranged them.
We found some scattered bones and rearranged them.
Happiness at getting to call home from a payphone at a small village!
Happiness! I got to call home after 10 days, from a payphone at a small village!

DSC06925  100_1365

Pindari Glacier
Pindari Glacier
Kafni Glacier
Kafni Glacier
Coldest campsite of the trek. We spent the night shivering.
Coldest campsite of the trek. A night spent shivering. (I’m the one in the red jacket)
As we reached base camp after the trek, hail stones that struck one after the other, along with huge droplets of pelting rain. had insane fun, most memorable moment of the trek.
As we reached base camp after the trek, hail stones struck one after the other, along with huge droplets of pelting rain. It was insane fun, and the most memorable moment of the trek.
13 thoughts on “Trekking the Himalayas”

  1. How awesome! Sounds like it’s going to be a great trip 🙂 (p.s. I found this through your link on Don Charisma)

    Like

Leave behind a thought on this page...

