Sweet, lingering pain

The sweet pain that lingers behind
long after the fight has ended
Dark, cold nights still haunt from within
As cherry blossoms welcome spring

I welcome pain like an old friend,
we’re soldiers of that battlefield –
reborn from our scars of victory,
wounds of bloodshed that wouldn’t heal

I’ve given refuge all these years
And so it remains, comes and goes
My soul, it keeps chasing the light
But shadows whisper of the night

Leaping flames of shadowy greys,
They beckon to my unlit soul
My mind is now grey-tinted, with
Sweet pain to engulf the darkness

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Over at dVerse it’s Open Link night, hosted by Beth Winters!

10 thoughts on “Sweet, lingering pain”

    1. Maybe so… I’m sure there’s a way to find freedom , but I believe pain will still feel like an old friend, because it has become familiar…Thanks for commenting, Claudia! 🙂

      Like

  1. “I welcome pain like an old friend,
    we’re soldiers of that battlefield –
    reborn from our scars of victory,
    wounds of bloodshed that wouldn’t heal”

    Such a great piece, goes so much deeper than I can imagine. Very very powerful.

    Like

Leave behind a thought on this page...

